Art 302 Fashioning Queer Self

Our identity is closely relate to the way we dress, or perceive and define our own culture and self. Many cultures varies differently, there are traditional and modern styles. For example, I was born and raised in China until the age of 8, my family and I we moved to US, so a lot of my culture, identity, and the way I dress have been influenced by the western culture. I’ve been living in the US for over 15 years now. I do consider part of myself being American, but of course I am Chinese as well. I remember growing up here I was able to wear whatever I want, short shorts, miniskirts and etc because that was the norm back when I was in middle-high school, although my mom really did not like the way I dress because she thinks is too showy for my age and my height, I still disobeyed her and wore what I wanted. As I remember going back to China in 2006, at that time I was 16 and it was during my summer break. I brought a lot of tanks, spaghetti straps, mini jean skirts, and rip jeans. When my auntie first saw me wearing rip jeans she asked why are you wearing jeans that look like you are homeless, and I had to tell her that pair of destroy jeans cost more than a not ripped jeans. It was very different for each culture to understand and accept the way people dress. When I was still in China I remember when my grandmother told me that I cannot wear mini-skirt to go out with her, I had to wear a skirt that’s below my knee. Culture, and where you live plays a big role of influenced of dressing. Living in the U.S., the way people dress are very freely basically one can wear whatever they want, and at most they would just turn heads, and get stares but other culture is different because it is not socially acceptable. Western culture have a lot of voice and freedom when it comes to garments. Just like according to the book, we are seeing more and more gay and lesbian designer that is so popular and are able to design cutting edge garments. Gay and Lesbians are seen to have a lot of unique style and taste in their designs and wardrobe. I feel like other culture are slowly influence by Western culture of promoting styles and socially accept people of who they are instead of being so judgmental.


Domenico Dolce, Stefano Gabbana


Alexander Mcqueen

Cristóbal Balenciaga

List of Gay Designers
http://www.quora.com/Which-famous-fashion-designers-are-gay

Images: Source Google Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

